Fill up my senses

The words were filling my mind like flood entering a city
I knew this isn’t you, I knew you will never be here.

“You fill up my senses, come fill me again”

My eyes closed the moment first piano note hit. And there you were!
Breeze daring to swirl around your hair and you giving me your charming & adorable smile.
Your eyes lit up showing me fireworks like always,
And me like a 5 year kid just admiring it from afar, not daring to move my eyes in fear of losing even a moment of the show.

“Come let me love you, come love me again”

The words were crushing everything inside me;
I was yearning to move ahead and just brush my hands against your cheeks.
Oh how I wish this was you, the you which I have always been searching ever since I lost you.

“Like storm in the desert, like sleepy blue ocean.
You fill up my senses, come fill me again.”

How wishful my fragile heart has always been when it came to you,
How even after feeling the stab of betrayal, I was yet ready to hand my heart all over to you again.
You always had that spark in you,
The enigma that you were, it always astonished me,
But at the same time it created a storm of fear within me.
Because there you were, always meant to shine & brighten the whole damn sky
And me merely wishing upon you, maybe even holding you back.

“Come let me love you, let me give my life to you.
Let me drown in your laughter, let me die in your arms.”

It scared me how each and every word written by a stranger resembled how much love and longing I have for you.
And now instead of just you, I see us.
Trying to dance, not caring about the music, the rhythm or pace.
The words filling up every space in our hearts with love for each other
Your head on my chest & a serene cheeky smile adoring your face.
And me finally content to just have you there, for maybe a moment.

For now till the song ends,
But that was enough for this lifetime I suppose, even if I yearn for more.
I know the streak of imagination is enough to keep me away from ruining your life again.
Just you name, your thought, your picture & your memories were enough.

For me to keep loving you & die peacefully with the imaginary you.

John Denver – Annie’s Song

Leave a comment